Skip to content

Taliaferro elected Commissioner Ward II for Slaton

From Staff Reports

The City of Slaton has a new Commissioner Ward II. Jim Taliaferro won in the general election Tuesday evening (Nov. 3), defeating opponent Doyce Field.

In unofficial results Taliaferro has 69.57 percent of the votes with 327 total, while Field has 30.43 percent of the votes with 143 total votes.

A total of 470 votes were cast by Ward II voters.

Taliaferro fills the seat vacated by now Mayor Lynn Nowlin, who was elected to the Mayor position last November in a special election.

The Commissioner Ward II vote was the only election that was conducted locally this election cycle.

The Slaton Independent School District Board of Trustees cancelled their general and special elections for board positions.

Place 1 and 2 Trustees Gabriel Johnson and Jamie Diaz ran unopposed for the special election. Place 3 Trustee Irma Jaramillo initially drew an opponent, however the candidate withdrew, making her the lone candidate.

The national elections were not decided as of press time Tuesday.

Leave a Comment