Skip to content

City mourns death of commissioner

The City of Slaton is mourning the loss of one of their council members.

Charlie C. Haynes Jr., Commissioner Ward IV, died Friday (Dec. 18).

“It is with great sadness the City of Slaton announces the loss of City Commissioner Dr. Charlie C. Haynes Jr.,” said Mayor Lynn Nowlin and City Administrator Mike Lamberson in a joint statement released Monday morning (Dec. 21).

“The City thanks you for your understanding and kindness for this loss.”

Haynes was elected in a special election November 2019 to fill the unexpired term of James “Buster” Tucker, who died May 23, 2019. He then ran unopposed for a full term in 2020.

Nowlin and Lamberson said there will be no changes to council meetings at this time, as it has a quorum of members.

“The City of Slaton will continue under the direction of Mayor Lynn Nowlin, Mayor Pro-Tem (Ward III) Benny Lopez, Commissioners (Ward I) Weldon ‘Squeaky’ Self and (Ward II) Jim Taliaferro,” they said. “The vacancy will be filled by State of Texas election laws in the near future.”

Funeral arrangements are pending with Griffin Mortuary in Lubbock.

Leave a Comment