Skip to content

Banner honoring state XC qualifiers unveiled 4 years later

By Melissa McCaghren

Slatonite GM

It may have taken some time to finally have it displayed, but members of the 2016 Slaton High School Girls Cross Country State Qualifying team finally had their accomplishments immortalized in a banner during a reveal Tuesday evening (Jan. 26).

The event was four years in the making.

“Slaton ISD would like to celebrate this team’s accomplishment and also apologize for the delay in recognition,” said Assistant Principal Coby Johnson during a ceremony between the girls and boys basketball teams’ games against the Roosevelt Eagles.

Members of the qualifying team were Haley Arledge, Avery Bentancourt, Alice Cogburn, Kamryn Gibbs, Mireya Hernandez, Jazmyn Jackson, Grace Parker and Aryanna Zapata.

Coaches were Chris Arledge, Rebecca Castillo, Rustin Klafka and Reggie Lewis.

Bentancourt, Zapata and Castillo were in attendance to reveal the banner, which resides alongside other State qualifier honors.

For more information, please read the Thursday edition of The Slatonite.

Leave a Comment