Skip to content

City sees low Early Voting, Election Day Saturday

From Staff Reports

The City of Slaton saw a low turnout of voters during  Early Voting, which began April 19.

Early Voting ended Tuesday evening (April 27) .

In the Mayoral Election, a total of 436 have cast their vote.

There are four candidates running to become mayor: Clif Shaw, Jessie Perez, Jacob Parker and John Gatica.

They are vying to fill the seat held by Lynn Nowlin since 2019, first as acting mayor after the passing of Dubbin Englund then winning a special election.

In the voting for City of Slaton Commissioner Ward IV, a total of 75 have cast their vote.

This special election is to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Charlie D. Haynes Jr., who died in December.

It is the only Ward that has a contested election.

Commissioner Ward I and Ward III are also still on the ballot, however neither election is contested.

The Commissioner Ward I position has been left vacant since the passing of Weldon “Squeaky” Self in December.

Tony Newton was the lone person to file for the seat.

Benny Lopez ran unopposed for the Commissioner Ward III position.

In each election, 142 have cast their vote in Ward I and 84 in Ward III.

Ward II does not have an commissioner election, but 135 have voted for mayor.

For Lubbock County, a total of 25,684 cast their votes during Early Voting. All totals include those who voted Tuesday.

Election Day will be Saturday (May 1), and all voters will now have to vote at their registered location to vote.

For Slaton, this is the Slaton Independent School District Administration Office, 140 E. Panhandle St.  Hours are from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

The Slatonite will run the results and voter counts of both contested elections in next week’s edition.

Leave a Comment