Skip to content

Mayor, Commissioner Ward IV races decided

From Staff Reports

The City of Slaton has voted a new Mayor and Ward IV Commissioner.

In unofficial results, Clif Shaw was elected Mayor, while Valarie Cubit was voted in as Ward IV Commissioner.

Both elections in May resulted in runoffs, as neither had a candidate receive 50 percent plus one vote to secure the win.

A total of 688 people voted in the mayoral runoff, which concluded Saturday (June 5) on Election Day.

In that election,  Shaw and John Gatica were the top two vote recipients in the Mayoral race, while for Commissioner Ward IV Cubit and Frank Cisneros were the top two.

In the unofficial results of the mayoral race, Shaw received 61.92 percent of the votes with 426, while Gatica received 38.08 percent with 262 votes.

A total of 124 people voted in the Ward IV runoff. The election was to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Charlie D. Haynes Jr., who passed away in December.

In the unofficial results for the Ward IV candidate race, Cubit received 52.42 percent of the votes with 65, while Cisneros received 59 votes for 47.58 percent.

The Ward I and Ward III commissioner positions were decided in May, although both had one candidate file.

Tony Newton was elected the Ward I commissioner in May.

He filled the position which had been vacant after the death of Weldon “Squeaky” Self in December.

Benny Lopez ran unopposed for Ward III commissioner. Lopez and Newton were sworn in during the May 13 City Council meeting.

Ward II Commissioner Jim Taliaferro will be up for re-election in May 2022.

The City Council is now a full board for the first time since December since the passing of Self and Haynes.

Shaw and Cubit will be sworn in Monday (June 14) after results certification during the Council’s regular session at 6:30 p.m. in City Hall.

Leave a Comment