Skip to content

School board election to be contested, City to stay same

From Staff Reports

There will be at least one election for Slaton this May.

Four candidates filed for the At-Large positions open in the Slaton Independent School District Board of Trustees meeting.

Luis Garcia and Brad Gaydos have filed to run for the two School Board seats. Incumbents Justin Martin and Kara Newcomb also filed for the seats.

In the City Council races, Commissioner Ward II Jim Taliaferro and Commissioner Ward IV Valarie Cubit-Johnson filed for their seats, but did not draw a challenger. This election may be canceled at next month’s meeting as there is no contested race.

The location is different for this election, and will be at the Slaton Community Clubhouse, 750 W. Garza St.

Early voting is April 25-May 3 from 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

The location will be closed Saturday and Sunday.

Election Day is Saturday, May 7, from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

Leave a Comment