Skip to content

Election Day Saturday for Ward I seat

From Staff Reports

Early voting has ended in Texas, including for the City of Slaton Ward I Commissioner race.

As of press time Tuesday (May 2) a total of 25 Ward I residents have cast ballots.

Election Day is May 6 from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

Voting will be at the Slaton Community Clubhouse, 750 W. Garza St. in Slaton.

Slaton only has one contested race for Ward I Commissioner. Tony Newton is the incumbent while Mike DeLano is the challenger.

The Ward III seat, held by Benny Lopez, and Mayor seat, held by Clif Shaw, did not draw an opponent.

Both seats for the Slaton Independent School District Board of Trustees also will remain the same.

Carlos Bentancourt in District 4 and Irma Jaramillo in District 3 filed for candidacy, but did not draw an opponent.

Results will be reported in next week’s edition.

Leave a Comment