Skip to content

Slaton, Roosevelt in same Division after realignment

By Melissa McCaghren

Slatonite GM

Slaton High School will see a completely new set of teams next year after the University Interscholastic League released its 2024-26 reclassification and realignment Thursday (Feb. 1).

Slaton was dropped from Division I to Division II and will now be in the same football District – II – as Roosevelt.

Other teams the Tigers and Eagles will play are Idalou, Littlefield and Muleshoe.

Slaton’s original District in Division I will be composed of the same four teams as 2022-24: Brownfield, Denver City, Kermit and Lamesa. No other teams were moved to the District.

In basketball, Slaton and Roosevelt will still in Region I, Division II, but play Dimmitt, Friona, Idalou, Littlefield, Muleshoe and Shallowater.

Brownfield, Denver City and Lamesa will have Coahoma, Crane, Odessa Compass Academy and Stanton in District III, while Kermit will move to District IV with Alpine, Anthony, IDEA Mesa Hills College Prep, Presidio and Tornillo.

Southland and Wilson remain in the same District – IV – for Division II Six-Man, and will play Ackerly Sands, Klondike, Loop and Welch Dawson.

In basketball, the Eagles and Mustangs will be in District VII and play Crosbyton, Lorenzo, O’Donnell and Petersburg.

Leave a Comment