Skip to content

Candidates file for election in Commissioner, Trustee seats

From Staff Reports

The City of Slaton and Slaton Independent School District will have contested races in the May election for Commissioners and Trustees.

In the City election, Valarie Johnson and Frank Cisneros filed to run for the Commissioner Ward IV seat. 

Johnson is the incumbent.

Jim Taliaferro, current Commissioner Ward II, filed for re-election and did not draw an opponent.

In the SISD Trustee race, Jamie Diaz and John Gatica filed to run in Place 2. 

Diaz is the incumbent.

Gabriel Johnson filed again for Place 1 and Greg Schilling for Place 5. 

Neither candidate drew an opponent.

The deadline for filing for write in was Tuesday. 

Candidates in a race are invited to submit their candidate announcements to run in The Slatonite to General Manager Melissa McCaghren at

Leave a Comment